My Worst Nightmare

As I was getting into bed after stuffing myself full to the brim for the 2nd day in a row, I got a phone call.

One of the phone calls you get where you’re scared to answer because you know it’s not good news.

My dad had passed away.

There’s so many thoughts that run through your head in this second while your trying to grasp what the other person just said. Wait, is this a nightmare? How? Was he alone? Was he in pain? Why? Why? WHY?

I’m mad. I’m sad. I’m so confused.

There are so many things I’ll remember my dad by but I’ll share just a few.

His love for sunrises and how he sent me a picture of one just about every single morning. I’m hoping he is enjoying the sunrises in every time zone in Heaven.

The way he practiced his pirate talking on “National Talk like a Pirate Day”. I bet he’ll be a pirate in his next life.

How passionate he was when he would travel. He was so interested to see what the unfamiliar city had to offer and would text me pictures all day long with fun facts.

The proud look he had when he walked me down the aisle less than 2 months ago.

The way he would tell me which brand new movies I should see and which ones I shouldn’t waste my time on. He was always spot on!

The beautiful speech he gave at our rehearsal dinner. I knew he was nervous, but he didn’t let it show.

When he sent me random emails to tell me a memory about my childhood that I had temporarily forgotten. Those always put a smile on my face.

How he called everyone he liked a “cool cat” or said “allllllllllrighty then” when he wanted you to change the subject.

The fact that I knew I was always going to get a beautiful bouquet on my birthday.

and most importantly,

how much he loved my brothers and I.

There’s nothing like knowing someone loves you unconditionally.

I know we have another guardian angel to watch over us…

I love you so so so SO much Dad.

Comments

  1. Hi Alyssa. I am so terribly sorry to hear of your loss. You were on such a high after your beautiful wedding – so I am sure this news came as a shock has knocked the wind out of your. Keep safe all of those beautiful memories. Sending you love and prayers.

  2. I’m so sorry Alyssa! Words can’t explain my sympathy – I hope you find strength in your memories, family and friends through this terrible loss. Heaven has gained another angel.

    Thinking of you!

  3. Thanks for sharing so eloquently Alyssa. Your words and pictures are spot on. Thay helped me laugh and cry some more, and thats a good thing. It is indeed a very sad day for the Kuminski family

  4. Alyssa, I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. Thoughts and prayers to you and your family.

  5. So, so sorry to hear about your father. What beautiful pictures of you and your family. I’m glad you have each other to get through this difficult time.

  6. Tim Mcfadden says:

    That was Beautiful Alyssa!!!! This has been a difficult time,for me this has helped THANK YOU!!!!

  7. He will always be with you, everytime you see a sunrise he will be smiling down.The pride in his eyes the day of your wedding will b how he will be remembered, a proud father who loved you deeply.I’m a phone call away love u.

  8. Patty Ellrich Butler says:

    Very beautiful story about your Dad. I am so very sorry for your loss. It seems as though you are a beautiful person inside and out, and it’s apparent Keith and Chris did an outstanding job with you! My prayers and thoughts are with you and your family.

  9. christopher wendel says:

    So Sorry to hear this very sad news about Keith! R.I.P.

  10. Judy Mergupis says:

    Very sorry for your loss. I grew up with Keith & I am Proud & Honored to call him a True Friend. My thoughts & Prayers are with his Family & Friends. God Bless ❤

  11. I’m so sorry for your loss. I’m so glad your dad got to Be at your wedding. I got married 5 months ago and some of my greatest memories from the wedding are with my dad. Your wedding pictures with your dad are beautiful. I pray you feel peace during this hard time. God bless.

  12. A beautiful tribute, Alyssa.

  13. Alyssa, words cannot even begin to express my sympathy for you & your family.
    I am praying for you & you are CONSTANTLY in my thoughts.
    I am here if you need anything…

  14. Alyssa, my deepest sympathy to you and your family! My thoughts and prayers are with you. This is a beautiful tribute, you have a wonderful father.

  15. Alyssa, I am so so sorry to hear this tragic news. My heart was breaking as I read this post; I can only imagine what a difficult time this is for you and your family. I will be keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers. Take care, girl. ❤ xoxo

  16. I am so so sorry for your loss, Alyssa. I’ll be keeping you and your family in my thoughts.

  17. So sorry to here about your Dads passing we were friends many years ago talked to him a couple times this year so sad bless your family in this time of sorrow

  18. Sometimes they were just “cats”, not “cool”, and “alrighty then ” was often used in a lot of our conversations, hmmm, and let’s not forget “wassup”, he taught that to my African Grey,(in his voice, of course) and Thank God that sunrises and sunsets are always welcomed pictures!!!! Who sets their alarm clock to watch a sunrise……Keith…I loved your dad, we share ink, lol, so much more to say, “writing” was his passion, I pray his heaven is somewhere there is always a sunrise or sunset and he has the biggest tablet, writing about what he loved the most, Alyssa,”A”, Keith, “K”, and Johnathan, “J”, with an abundance of Gardenias!!!!

  19. I am so incredibly sorry for your loss. I can’t even imaging what you are feeling, but just know that he’s watching over you and I’m sure is SO proud of you. I will keep you and your family in my prayers and please know that I’m here for you if there’s anything I can do ❤

  20. Alyssa – this is so beautifully written. I am sure your dad is looking down on you and so terribly proud. He sounds very much like my dad and although it is hard not to be sad, not to feel totally heartbroken, remember he would want you to go on smiling, enjoying sunsets and remembering all those childhood memories. Peace to your family.

  21. Jared Zlotnick says:

    You’re such an amazing, strong woman. I’m glad I had a chance to meet your Dad and understand what he means to you. We’re all family now. I’ll always be here for you.

  22. Sincere Condolences Alyssa. Keith was a favorite friend at PBGHS and FSU, and he will be sorely missed. A Beautiful sunrise or sunset will not pass my eye without thinking of Keith. RIP Brother..

  23. Oh Alyssa my heart is breaking for you. I will keep you and your family in my prayers everyday. I can’t imagine what you are going through. Thank God he was present at your beautiful wedding. If there’s anything I, or any of this community can do, please let me know. God Bless you 🙂

    ❤ – karla

  24. I am so incredibly sorry for your loss Alyssa! I am so glad that he was able to be there on your wedding day. My heart goes out to you and your family! If you need anything or even just a friend to talk to don’t hesitate to email! Stay strong!

  25. I am so very sorry for your loss. That is the hardest thing we ever have to deal with, losing a parent. I will pray for you. xo

Trackbacks

  1. […] you for all of your kind words on my last post. Encouraging words and stories from others are whats helping keep a smile on my […]

  2. […] Catch a sunrise on Juno Pier (my dad’s favorite) […]

Leave a Reply

