Groceries I Keep on Hand

I had a special reader suggestion 2 weeks about what groceries I keep on hand. Since we just moving in and starting from scratch I thought now would be the perfect time to share. Here we go: (PS: Where I keep my food is MESSY. I warned you πŸ™‚ )

017

Fridge:

  • Plain Greek Yogurt (Big Tub – I use this as sour cream, mayonnaise for my tuna fish and of course yogurt with berries & agave)
  • Unsweetened Almond Milk (I only use milk in cereal, oatmeal etc so you can’t beat 30 calories a cup)
  • Carton of Egg Whites (Use in protein pancakes, omelets, healthy baking)
  • Eggs
  • Chocolate Coconut Water – For those days you’re feeling extra parched
  • Unsweetened Applesauce – healthy baking or snack
  • Fat Free Feta – Salad Topper
  • Tofu – Protein of Choice
  • English Muffins – They last longer in the fridge
  • Marinara Sauce – Yes, I buy store-bought
  • Vegetable Broth – You can use this in a lot of meals
  • Sugar Free Jelly
  • Natural Peanut Butter
  • Pickles – Β for Tuna Fish & Burgers
  • BBQ Sauce – We use this A LOT
  • Greek Dressing – Natural
  • Turkey & Cheese – To make sandwiches for Adam every morning
  • Vegetables – Zucchini ( i use this as pasta or roast them for salads/dinner) , Cucumbers (salads) , Sweet Onion (caramelize for salads and/or soups/chilis) , Asparagus (favorite side dish) & Sweet Potatoes (home fries, sweet potato fries, roast, sweet mashed potatoes etc) (I buy all of this EVERY time I go to the store..sometimes more)
  • Fruit – Strawberries & Apples (Apple a day keeps the doctor away!)
  • Romaine Lettuce & Spinach ( Salads and omelet add-in)

019

Freezer:

  • Turkey Meatballs (Adam)
  • Meatless Meatballs (So Easy to throw in Pasta)
  • Veggie Burgers
  • Chili Lime Chicken Burgers (Adam)
  • Vegetables – Spinach, Broccoli, Green Beans ( easy to throw in a dish)
  • Fruit – Strawberries, Blueberries & Bananas (Smoothies!)
  • Waffles – Whole Wheat
  • Spinach Tortellini – Takes 3 minutes to cook
  • Shrimp

022

Cabinet:

  • Whole Wheat Pasta
  • Green Tea
  • Nuts – Pine Nuts, Almonds, Sunflower Seeds, Pistachios (Salad Toppers)
  • Hot Chocolate & Marshmallows πŸ™‚
  • Old Fashioned Oats
  • Quinoa & Couscous
  • Tuna Fish (No Salt Added)
  • Beans – Kidney, Black, Red, White. Refried & Garbanzo
  • Diced Tomatoes
  • Artichoke Hearts
  • Sun-dried Tomatoes
  • Panko
  • Raisins & Dried Cranberries
  • Granola
  • Clif Z Bars
  • Builder Bars
  • Lite Popcorn

023

Spices:

  • Agave Nectar
  • Stevia
  • Chia Seeds
  • Flax Seed
  • Peanut Flour
  • Protein Powder
  • Cinnamon
  • Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • Crushed Red Pepper
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Old Bay
  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Sea Salt
  • Paprika
  • Chili Powder
  • Cayenne Pepper

I cook every meal at home with the exception of usually Saturday night dinners which we enjoy out at a restaurant so we might carry a bit more food on hand than another couple. But if you are looking to start keeping healthy foods on hand – I hope this helps!

Now I think I have some cleaning of cabinets to do…

Questions: What are a couple of things you buy every week at the grocery store?Β 

Comments

  1. So many of those things are some of my essentials as well!!! I HAVE to have greek yogurt on hand, and all of those seasonings are in my pantry! Lite popcorn is one of my favorite snacks πŸ™‚

  2. Cool post. Really tells allot about a person and sparked some ideas for new things I want to start eating regularly. I always have peanut butter, green apples, spinach, and almonds on hand!

  3. I can see why you make such wonderful items and remain thin. I buy stevia, almonds & peanut butter every week!

  4. I have a few of these things…

  5. Almost identical to my shopping list. Just add brussel sprouts and coffee πŸ™‚

  6. Your spices…how cool! That’s a great way to keep them. Hmmmm, I need to look into that. I can never find what I’m looking for in my cabinet.
    PS: Where’s the alcohol?! I find that’s a must in my kitchen! Haha πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

