Shrimp Fra Diavolo

I’ve never been a marinara girl.

When I was younger and it was pizza night, I would remove the cheese and wipe the sauce off with napkins. Then I would eat the cheese and the dough separately while throwing my sauce blotted napkins in the trash.

I never said I was normal…

Cheese has always been my go to but now that I’m more mature (haha) I eat my veggies(fruit) too.

Saturday night Adam and I joined forces in the kitchen to make a spicy dish, Shrimp Fra Diavolo. We both love anything spicy and this didn’t disappoint. Like chug two bottles of water at dinner while you sweat spicy.

002

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

Ingredients 

  • 8 oz Linguine (We used Trader Joe’s Spinach & Chive)
  • 1 pound shrimp, peeled & deveined
  • 2 tablespoons EVOO
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil leaves, slivered
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cups canned crushed tomatoes
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can fire roasted diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • Parmesan Cheese (optional)

Directions

  • Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain.
  • While pasta cooks, heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.
  • Add 1 tablespoon garlic and shrimp. Sauté for 3 minutes or until shrimp are done. Remove from pan; keep warm.
  • Add remaining 1 tablespoon oil and onion to pan – sauté 5 minutes or until softened.
  • Stir in remaining rosemary, red pepper, basil, fennel seeds and oregano. Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly.
  • Stir in lemon juice, crushed tomatoes, salt, and diced tomatoes – cook 5 minutes or until thickened.
  • Return shrimp to pan – cook for 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Serve over pasta.
  • Sprinkle Parmesan on top if desired.

002

Comments

  1. I may be just the opposite. I looove marinara. We made homemade pizzas on Sat night and coated those babies up. If only I had more for dipping.

  2. Yum! This looks awesome. My husband and I love anything with a little kick to it too, and I am sooo going to use that Trader Joe’s spinach & chive linguine that you used. Glad I found your blog!

Leave a Reply

