WIAW – Spinach, Sweet Potato & Lentil Soup

Happy Wednesday! It is absolutely FREEZING here so I hope wherever you are, you’re nice and warm.

Here’s a look at my daily eats – I took pictures Monday since I was off. It’s easier than explaining to your co-workers why you’re taking a picture of an ugly dollop of hummus. Head on over to Jenn’s to see what other people ate!

wiawphotobutton

Breakfast: I got to try the new Banana Chobani (so good!) – I added some of that Peanut Butter Toast Crunch and blueberries on top.

photo (20)

Snack: Honeycrisp Apple and PB2

photo (19)

Lunch: Spinach, Sweet Potato & Lentil Soup (recipe below) + Crunchmaster Multigrain Crackers

photo (18)

Snack: Carrots & Spicy Hummus + Clif Z Chocolate Chip Bar

photo (21) photo (11)

Dinner: Sesame Ginger Salmon, Roasted Baby Broccoli and Brown Rice

photo (22)

Dessert: Sugar Free Hot Chocolate with Marshmallows – trying to keep warm

photo (23)

If you’re looking for a way to keep warm – This soup is perfect! I served Grilled Cheese with the soup to make it the ultimate comfort meal.

011

Spinach, Sweet Potato & Lentil Soup (Crock Pot)

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 package of chopped onions, celery and carrots (bought at Trader Joes)
  • 2 small sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1/2 package of lentils (bought at Trader Joes — if you can’t find maybe 1 1/2 cups cooked lentils)
  • 36 oz Vegetable Broth (Low Sodium)
  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 cans (15 ounce) fire roasted tomatoes (diced)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp Italian Seasoning
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 cups fresh spinach

Directions

  • Add everything to crock pot except spinach.
  • Cook on Low for 10 hours or High for 5.
  • Set it and Forget it.
  • Add Spinach 5 minutes before serving and remove Bay Leaves – Spinach will wilt due to heat.
  • Serve with Grilled Cheese or Crackers

011

 Questions – What is your favorite soup?

Comments

  1. I was just telling my friend last night that I needed a vegetarian crock pot recipe to try! This is perfect!!

  2. It is SO cold in Baltimore, too. My favorite soup is definitely cream of crab (especially if it’s from a good spot in Maryland!).

  3. When I woke up for my wisdom teeth surgery yesterday the actual temp was -5 with a ‘feels like’ temp of -20. SO COLD. Which is making the recovery process on the couch much more enjoyable 🙂

    I want to find the Clif Z bars. What’s the calorie content in them? I love CLIF Bars but they’re so high in calories for me & I’m trying to keep my intake around 1200/day.

  4. TO DO: try banana chobani!!

  5. Love me a good soup, this one looks fantastic! Perfect for the cold weather.

  6. The soup looks great! It always feels like winter in my building at work and a nice warm soup or stew is perfect.

  7. there is banana chobani?! i must investigate. it’s so funny that you posted about soup because i have been craving it these past couple days of cold weather! my favorite right now is trader joe’s roasted red pepper tomato soup. =)

  8. Soup and Grilled Cheese… perfect dinner on a chili day 🙂

Leave a Reply

