WIAW – Healthy Broccoli & Cheese Soup

 

Happy Wednesday! I think we all know that means that today is What I ate Wednesday, so let’s get to it. I also have a soup recipe below because I am clearly obsessed with soups during this cold streak (and of course today is 70 degrees)!

wiawphotobutton

 

Breakfast: 1 egg + 1 egg white, Muenster cheese, strawberry jelly and a bagel thin. Best part? The yolk breaking!

photo (32)

Snack: Clementines & Almonds. Standard

018 019

 

 Lunch: Healthy Broccoli & Cheese Soup (recipe below) + Honeycrisp Apple

005

honeycrisp_apple

Snack: Think Thin Caramel Bar (Yum!)

thinkThin Caramel Fudge High Protein Bar Close

Dinner: Salmon, brown rice & Sugar snap peas

photo (30)

Dessert: Clean Oatmeal Cookies

007

I made the soup on Sunday which is definitely a keeper! It’s extremely healthy and clean. Adam and I try to eat as clean as possible 80% of the time – Our goal is to have a six-pack by Summer… Who else thinks I won’t ever get there? I like fro-yo too much!

photo (31)

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Ingredients

  • 10 oz frozen broccoli florets
  • 2 cups Low Sodium Vegetable Broth
  • 1.5 cups Unsweetened Original Almond Milk
  • 2 tbsp All Purpose Flour
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp EVOO
  • 6 baby carrots, chopped (Or 1 large)
  • 1/3 cup Nurtional Yeast (Don’t be scared of this!)
  • 2 tablespoons Romano Cheese

Directions

  • Heat olive oil in a soup pot on medium
  • Add onion and garlic – Cook til translucent, 3 minutes.
  • Add flour and whisk in Almond Milk and Vegetable Broth until no lumps remain
  • Add Bay Leaves, Nutmeg, Salt & Pepper
  • Bring broth to boil, cover, reduce heat to simmer for about 15 minutes – Stir occasionally so bottom doesn’t burn
  • Remove bay leaves discard
  • Add carrot & broccoli
  • Cover and simmer about 10-15 minutes more – or until veggies are tender
  • Add nutritional yeast and romano cheese.
  • Blend until smooth (Or a little chunky if you like to taste broccoli)
  • Serve hot

Enjoy!

 

 

Comments

  1. Steph @ Water, Extra Ice says:

    I’m really intrigued by that soup recipe..especially the almond milk. It’s different than most recipes out there for broccoli cheese soup..I will definitely have to give that a try! 🙂

  2. The pictures of your breakfast sandwich and salmon dinner look so delicious! I also like munching on almonds, great healthy snack 🙂

  3. Ooh I’ve never tried the caramel thinkthin bar!

  4. I’ve never tried the caramel ThinkThin bar!

  5. We have salmon planned for tonight (on sale @ Publix today). And… I was thinking of making some soup today since I am off, just may use your recipe. I use Almond milk for my coffee & cereal (for years I used soy but I switched to the Almond). Also, have clementines here, altho’ almost out. Are we related? LOL — Love ya’ — Aunt Pam

  6. Love the idea of a healthy broccoli and cheese soup! I’m sure the usual recipes are loaded with fat and calories, so this is a great idea.

  7. Mmm a runny yolk always makes the egg sandwich way better. Looks like a good days worth of eats!

  8. I just came across your blog and i absolutely love it!!!

Leave a Reply

