Anniversary Weekend

10 days ago, we celebrated our 1 year Wedding Anniversary!

1756_770877984219_614571923_n

We went back and forth on how to celebrate. Did we want to spend a week on the beach? Should we put our passports to good use and travel overseas? Should we drive up the California Coast? Or maybe we should go somewhere a bit closer for a long weekend? In the end, our indecisiveness made our decision for us.  We were staying home for the weekend but would plan some fun “excursions”.

We had a semi-lazy day Saturday morning so we would be wide awake for our plans that night. Adam said he had an errand to run and came home with a bouquet – my wedding bouquet, to be exact! He had a local florist recreate them and they were just as beautiful as I remember.

photo (11)

We signed up for a couples cooking class at ICE with the theme “He said, She said”.  We originally thought we would be making 4 courses but we were surprised when we saw our menu for the night

1380396_581963385198459_510353569_n

Um, how will we cook and eat all of that? Somehow, we did it. There were 6 couples in the class so we split into groups of 2 (4 people). Our group was in charge of making the shrimp caesar salad, the roasted butternut squash salad and the bruleed banana tartlets. We immediately started prepping our food so we could get to eating.

photo (4)

So professional with the tucked fingers. The quicker we got to choppin, the sooner the wine came out. No drinking until knives are away… I thought that was a good rule.

photo (9)

I took charge of the dessert (duh) and everyone said it was their favorite. With nutella, puffed pastry and whipped cream, how could it be bad?

image

 

Once the groups were finished cooking we placed everything on the buffet table to make our plates.

photo

Food:

Butternut Squash Salad with Ricotta Insalata

Butternut Squash Salad with Ricotta Insalata

Ratatouille Crostini (with goat cheese!)

Ratatouille Crostini (with goat cheese!) 

photo (6)

Grille Steak Salad with Spicy Grilled Peaches

Grille Steak Salad with Spicy Grilled Peaches

Duck Meatballs in Creamy Polenta

Duck Meatballs in Creamy Polenta

Roasted Head-on Shrimp with Creamy Caesar Salad

Roasted Head-on Shrimp with Creamy Caesar Salad 

Peanut Butter Ice Box Cake with chocolate crust and warm berry compote

Peanut Butter Ice Box Cake with chocolate crust and warm berry compote

Bruleed Banana Tartlets with Nutella Cream

Bruleed Banana Tartlets with Nutella Cream 

My favorite dish was the steak and peach salad. We’ve already created this at home, it was that good. I went from not eating meat for 2 years, to picking steak as my favorite meal. Adam’s favorite was the Duck Meatballs (which were last on my list). Everything was amazing and we had such a great time. Our chefs were a married couple as well, so it was fun to hear how they cook together. We can’t wait to go again!

photo (2)

The next morning we dove into our year old cake! We were a bit nervous since it had been an entire year since it was made, but it was just as good as we remembered!

photo (14)

We headed to the spa for 4 hours of relaxation. It was a dreary day outside so it was almost perfect that we planned these couples treatments.

photo (13)

We had grand dinner plans but with all of the food from Saturday night, the cake for breakfast Sunday Morning and the mimosas during the day, we just felt like hanging around. We picked up some fro-yo (first pumpkin taste of the season!) and watched football for the rest of the night.

photo (12)

It was the perfect weekend to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Looking forward to many many more!

379411_770878188809_1408222186_n

Comments

  1. Absolutely wonderful way to celebrate the love you have for one another. Happy Anniversary Alyssa & Adam!

  2. I love that first photo – you look gorgeous! Also, adorable outfit for cooking class 🙂

  3. Wow-that year went so fast! You still look as happy as you did when I read your wedding recap posts. Cheers to many more for you & Adam!

    That cooking class is such a good idea. Must keep that idea in my head for future date nights 🙂

  4. Happy Anniversary! Looks like you guys had an awesome weekend! 🙂

  5. Happy Anniversary!! What a great way to spend your anniversary! I love the cooking class idea. I have to tell you that i was very inspired by some of the wedding details you have shared and loved Bill Levkoff so much I am having my bridesmaids wear his dresses as well! I am also in search of a similar veil to the one you are wearing, it’ll be perfect for a wedding in a cathedral. you don’t see the super long ones as much anymore and I just love it!

    • that is great Mila!! I cannot wait to see your wedding photos, you will be a gorgeous bride. I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVED my veil. I had to have it custom made but it really put the finishing touch on my look. I was bummed that it was so windy because I couldn’t wear it for long :/. When is your wedding??

  6. Your wedding photos are gorgous and that cooking class sounds like so much fun! I haven’t been to a cooking class in a while maybe I will get a friend to sign up for one with me.

    ~Joanie
    http://www.flonymind.com

  7. I love your veil…..wish I had found one in that style!

Leave a Reply

