Mock Mashed Potatoes

 

My Grandma makes the best mashed potatoes in the world. For Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter and certain birthday’s she peels, chops and boils about 15 pounds of potatoes to make her family happy. I know they are loaded with butter, milk & sour cream (duh, that’s why they taste so good!) and those items combined, are things I like to “avoid” during the week. I have seen a lot of recipes floating around for cauliflower mashed potatoes so decided to give it a whirl. I think they turned out pretty well and I even got my husband to eat half of the batch. Veggies for the win.

photo (8)

Mock Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 1 pound of cauliflower florets
  • 1 tablespoon of minced garlic
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 tsp Smoked Paprika
  • 2 tablespoons of butter (I used vegan butter that was Soy Free)
  • A splash of Low Sodium Veg Broth

Directions

  • Boil a pot of water and steam the cauliflower until tender (about 10 minutes)
  • Drain cauliflower and add to blender (or food processor) with garlic, salt, pepper, smoked paprika and butter
  • Mix until everything is smooth. Here is where I add a bit of broth to give it a creamy consistency instead of rice texture.
  • Taste for seasoning.
  • After I placed the “mashed potatoes” in the serving bowl, I sprinkled more of the Smoked Paprika on top.
  • Enjoy!

 

Comments

  1. I’m very curious to see if I could get Tyler to eat these if I just told him they’re mashed potatoes…. a little white lie to get him to eat some veggies can’t be too bad, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

