‘Give Thanks’ Rustic Banner

FullSizeRender

 

I usually buy my banners off of Etsy but decided this year I wanted to tackle one on my own. I went to Michaels and purchased all of my supplies for less than $15 (and I have plenty leftover). I went with the rustic style since this was going on a mirror that hangs over my fall tablescape. This was SO simple, I might never buy a pre-made banner again…

Here is what you’ll need:

  • Pre-cut burlap squares (they look like this)
  • Acrylic Paint in your color of choice
  • Variety pack of sponge spouncers (they look like this)
  • 4.5″  Letter stencils
  • Jute Twine (which looks like this)
  • Hot glue gun/glue sticks

Here is what you’ll do:

  • Lay burlap square to be stenciled on top of a piece of cardboard to ensure table or counter does not get ruined. My carpet learned this the hard way.
  • Center desired letter in the middle of burlap flag. Use a spouncer and paint to stencil the letter onto the burlap. Lay the paint down very thick.
  • Let finished squares dry for an hour or so
  • Flip the squares over (spelling from right to left) and measure the amount of twine you will need (leave extra on the ends so you can hang it up). I left 3/4 of an inch in between each letter.
  • Measure 1/2 inch from top of banner and make a straight line across the back of the burlap squares with your hot glue gun.
  • Lay jute twine on top and let dry for 10 minutes
  • Hang your banner wherever you please

 

Comments

  1. So easy, even your mom could do it!

  2. Looks great – very creative!

Leave a Reply

